Abandoned Train

You are blinded by the intense sun, relentlessly beating down on the town. The streets are wide, and a slow breeze moves the dust along them creating a nearly oceanic sound. Everything is white-wash, or appears to be such due to the brightness of the sun. The few people there are, move slowly through the streets…as there is really nowhere to go. The town, in its quirkiness, is an island amongst a sea of sand leaving the people stranded to the four corners of its tiny boundaries. In a day you would see all this town has to offer.So then what. What is it about the desert that keeps us locked into its question of why…why does it make me feel something, when all around me is nothing. It must be the stubbornness that keeps us awake at night with our thoughts about a world beyond this one. We see nothing, yet deep down we can not believe such to be true…we want to look closer and closer…something is there.Maybe that is the only way I can describe my lust for the desert landscape…either way, my brother and I have hired a guide and will be taking our film equipment into the dreamy desert oasis of Salar de Uyuni and beyond into the driest place on earth…The Atacama Desert.